Let’s make some MAGIC!!

RIDE STRONG DANIELLE AND LESELY!

RIDE STRONG DANIELLE AND LESELY!

As part of training for my half marathon/fundraising I have been wanting to highlight why people fight so hard to end cancer.  Today I received a fundraising e-mail from one of my AMAZING PMC riding friends.  Thank you for letting me share this I hope you all enjoy and think about giving to this great cause!

Hello Friends!

With exactly 3 weeks until the 2013 PMC, I am 55% of the way to my $4,300 fundraising minimum! Great progress to be sure, but I still need your help to reach the finish line!

Now I understand that as a prospective PMC contributor, you might be wondering what difference your hard-earned donation dollars make in the war on cancer.

Well I’m glad you asked! As you may have heard, Les and I were recruited to a PMC riding team this year! (#1 draft picks, of course). In 3 weeks, we will be riding the 200 miles of the Pan-Mass Challenge with Team Lenny, which means that every dollar we raise this year will be specifically earmarked for the Zakim Center – a branch of Dana Farber that compliments traditional cancer treatments with holistic and alternative therapies.

 

Too much jargon? Let’s make this personal (like everything else about the PMC). I ride the Pan-Mass Challenge in memory of my Grandma Murray and my dad – two people who were incredibly important to me but who could not have had more divergent views on medicine and health. As a self-proclaimed witch, my grandma never shied away from the non-traditional; she used voodoo dolls to influence skating competitions, frequently donned a witch’s hat when the moon was full, and would tape high-powered magnets to her ailing body parts, convinced the invisible magnetic fields would correct any internal misalignments – a practice she swore did work.

Like magic, she would say.

My dad, on the other hand, was a man of science. As a practicing neurologist until the very end, he was committed to traditional medicine, to the logical, the explainable. But as his illness became more resistant to traditional attacks, my dad slowly became more open to alternative approaches.

I’ll never forget sitting with my dad at his chemo sessions in those final months, watching as the holistic nurse performed reiki over his body – an ancient Buddhist technique that transfers healing power from the palms of a practitioner to the body of a patient. As the chemo entered his body through an IV, the nurse hovered her hands over his body, never making actual contact. And as she did, after weeks of restless nights and incessant pain, I watched as my dad finally fell asleep; a look of calm on his face that I hadn’t seen in far too long.

Medicine? Yes. Magic? Maybe. To someone with cancer, and to their family, there’s often very little difference between the two because in the fight against this awful disease, we need all the weapons we can get.

So how about it – ready to make a little magic? http://www2.pmc.org/profile/pfp.asp?profileid=DC0271

Leave a Reply

